Syracuse University Library Dean Suzanne E. Thorin nominated to National Museum and Library Services Board

Suzanne E. Thorin, Dean of Libraries and University Librarian at Syracuse University, was nominated to the National Museum and Library Services Board by President Obama on March 12, 2012. She is one of three individuals nominated by the President to serve as an adviser to the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) on general policy and practices and on selections for the National Medal for Museum and Library Service. The board includes the IMLS director and deputy directors, and 20 members of the general public with demonstrated expertise and commitment to libraries or museums.

In a White House press release, speaking of these nominees, President Obama said, “These dedicated individuals bring a wealth of experience and talent to their new roles and I am proud to have them serve in this Administration. I look forward to working with them in the months and years to come.”

“President Obama’s nomination of Suzanne Thorin to this post reflects broad appreciation at the highest levels for her national impact,” says SU Chancellor and President Nancy Cantor. “As libraries re-invent themselves as nerve centers of the information revolution, Suzanne continues to be recognized by her peers not only for the depth and breadth of her experience, but for her intellectual agility as an innovator. We’re thrilled for her and honored by this presidential recognition of one or our own.”

The National Museum and Library Services Board is the advisory body for the IMLS, which is the primary source of federal support for the nation’s 123,000 libraries and 17,500 museums. The institute works to create strong libraries and museums through programming at the national level, and in coordination with state and local organizations.

Ms. Thorin directs the university’s libraries, including the Special Collections Research Center and the Belfer Audio Archive, as well as Syracuse University Press. The SU Library has garnered almost $1.5 million in grants since Ms. Thorin’s arrival in 2006.

Between 1996 and 2005, Ms. Thorin was the Ruth Lilly University Dean of Libraries and Associate Vice President for Digital Libraries at Indiana University. Her experience also includes 16 years at the Library of Congress, where she served in numerous capacities, including Chief of Staff to the Librarian of Congress. Ms. Thorin holds a bachelor’s degree in music education from North Park University in Chicago and master’s degrees in music history and literature and in library science from the University of Michigan.

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • email
  • Delicious
  • LinkedIn
  • More